Shell/Pennzoil expands Penske deal in NASCAR and IndyCar

The new multi-year agreement beginning in 2023 will continue its long-standing agreements with Team Penske at NASCAR as well as expand and enter new business and technical relationships with Penske, the IndyCar Series and Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

First, Shell-Pennzoil will continue to sponsor Joey Logano and Ford’s 22nd NASCAR Cup Series, serving as primary sponsor for over 30 races in the next several seasons.

“This is a huge announcement on so many levels,” said Lugano, who won 26 cup races, the 2018 Daytona 500 and series with Penske. “If you think about continuity in car number 22 and seeing a Shell/Pennzoil car on the track for so many years.

“I’m starting my 500th career and I think around 350 will have Shell/Pennzoil on the car in some form or shape. It’s something we should be proud of and it shows it’s been a great partnership.

“When something lasts as long as it has lasted and still looks for ways to grow and continue a relationship that appears to work on both ends of the deal and is a tell-tale sign of what a true partnership is.”

Logano’s current driving contract expires at the end of the 2023 season, but team owner Roger Pinske said a Lugano contract extension which likely reverses Shell’s contract should come “soon”.

“We have an agreement with Joey until 2023,” said Penske. “Obviously, he and I have talked about extending it but we wanted to get the Shell contract done, which we did last week.” “He and I are having a good conversation about it and we expect to announce the extension here soon.”

The second largest part of the Shell deal – and the new component – will begin in 2023, and Shell will become the official fuel for the IndyCar chain.

Since 2019, Speedway LLC, a subsidiary of Marathon Petroleum Corp. , official fuel and small official chain store for the IndyCar, IMS and Indianapolis 500 chain.

Speedway currently produces the E85 variant, which contains 85 percent ethanol and 15 percent of the chain’s high-octane racing fuel.

“From Penske’s perspective, we build our company on the foundation of partnerships and the company we started in 1981 is not just a sponsorship, it’s an alliance between a company,” said Penske. “We do business with Shell in many parts of the world – the US, Canada, Germany and Australia as well.

“Because we have invested in Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the IndyCar chain, many partners have wanted to be a part of our journey with us and I must say Shell has been an industry leader.”

Joey Logano, Team Penske, Shell Benzwell Ford Mustang

Joey Logano, Team Penske, Shell Benzwell Ford Mustang

Photography: Jasen Vinlove/NKP/ motorsports pictures

Other elements of the new and expanded deal include:

Pennzoil will continue to serve as the “Official Lubricant Supplier” to the Penske Team.

– Shell and Pennzoil will also be the main sponsors for two of Team Penske’s Indianapolis 500 entries. Two-time IndyCar Series champion Joseph Newgarden will race with Shell’s No. 2 V-Power Chevrolet and Scott McLaughlin will race at Pennzoil’s No. 3 Chevy in Indianapolis.

Pennzoil will extend its sponsorship as the official supplier of motor oil and lubricants to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and IndyCar.

Pennzoil will continue to sponsor the Pennzoil 150 in the Brickyard NASCAR Xfinity Series at IMS in July.

– Shell and Pennzoil will continue to serve as the preferred supplier of fuels and lubricants to Penske Transportation Solutions and Penske Automotive Group.

Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske Chevrolet

Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske Chevrolet

Photography: Jeffrey M. Miller / motorsports pictures

Shell/Pennzoil and Team Penske reunited in 2011, building on the racing legacy established in the 1980s. Pennzoil first teamed up with Team Penske as a sponsor of the IndyCar program in 1983 and won two Indianapolis 500 races (1984 and 1988) with driver Rick Mears.

Together, Team Penske and Shell/Pennzoil have won 96 races, including Logano’s recent victory at Darlington Racecourse (SC), which locked him into the NASCAR Qualifiers for the season.